Berlin…I made it!!

May 23, 2008

I arrived in Berlin a few days ago.  It is a bit odd to think I will be here for the next ten weeks.  My assumption that people speak English here was kind of wrong.  The people speak English but only when they figure out you do.  I walk down the street and hear every language but English.  The food is all written in German, the signs, the advertisements, the dinner menus, the beer labels, and pretty much anything and everything else I have found so far.  I guess this might be a case of a mild culture shock or maybe just an unexpected realization of my own ignorance.  English is a second language, ha, who would have thought?  However, all things considered I am settling in, taking a few changes with some odd cheeses and salami, and finding my way around the neighborhood.  I am in Pankow which is a neighborhood in Eastern Berlin.  I am living and working at the Zentrum Fur Keramik, translated the Ceramic Center.  Here is a few pictures of my new home for the next couple of months.

\          

                              The House

                             The Studio

Leave a Reply

